The most metal concert reviews in LA

Zombie at the Roxy on the Sunset Strip (April 8, 2016)

I got to see to Rob Zombie at the Roxy. Never would have thought I would see him in a five hundred capacity venue. I guess you could say I got really lucky to get a ticket for such an intimate show.

The show started right at 9:00 opening with White Zombie’s “More Human Than a Human.” He played for an hour and a half, which included an encore of three songs. Not bad for a rehearsal type gig. Zombie told the crowd, “We’ve been rehearsing all week and our rehearsal space is bigger than the Roxy.” With that being said, Zombie had no major stage props so the focus was on him and his band. His current line-up is bassist Piggy D., drummer Ginger Fish and guitarist John 5.

Zombie made his way into the crowd which made everyone just want to get even closer to him. So much so he apparently bumped his head a few times with cells phones that people were holding up. He asked the crowd to give him five minutes without a phone in the air; he wanted everyone to feel what it was like in a club twenty years ago. “Learn to have fun!,” he said. John 5 had a cool looking yellow lava like guitar that had yellow glow in the dark liquid running through it. John 5 also had the attention of the crowd over his face makeup and masks throughout the gig.

So I had always wondered about the song ‘Sick Bubblegum,” where the name of the song came from. Well he gave a quick explanation that night. It was an interview he heard from his friend Johnny Ramone. Johnny was describing the Ramones’ music and said, “bubblegum, sick bubblegum.” Zombie really liked that and wrote it down. After that he released huge round bubblegum looking balloons as the band played “Sick Bubblegum.”

Zombie also had a surprise special guest, Glenn Danzig. They did a cover of the Misfits “Vampira”.

No doubt that the band is ready to hit the road and promote the release of The Electric Warlock Acid Witch Satanic Orgy Celebration Dispenser, which is being released on April 29, 2016. Zombie will be on tour with Korn on the Return of the Dreads Tour.

Oh, did I mention that the gig was being taped? Zombie didn’t say what the footage would be used for.

Got to say the show did not lack energy!!!



Here is the setlist.
1. More Human Than Human
2. Dead City Radio and the New Gods of Supertown
3. Superbeast
4. Living Dead Girl
5. Well, Everybody’s Fucking in a U.F.O.
6. Thunder Kiss ’65
7. We’re an American Band
8. Get Your Boots On! That’s the End of Rock and Roll
9. Sick Bubble-Gum
10. The Hideous Exhibitions of a Dedicated Gore Whore
11. House of 1000 Corpses
12. Demonoid Phenomenon
13. In the Age of the Consecrated Vampire We All Get High
14. Never Gonna Stop (The Red, Red Kroovy)
15. Teenage Nosferatu Pussy
16. Vampira (Misfits cover with Glenn Danzig)
17. Dragula
18. Scum of the Earth
19. Meet the Creeper
20. Ging Gang Gong De Do Gong De Laga Raga


Published by Zyner, on April 13th, 2016 at 1:55 pm. Filed under: metal,rock. | No Comments |